County Administration

County Administrator Steve Mokrohisky sits at the front of a college classroom.

Steve Mokrohisky
County Administrator

Lane County Administration
125 East 8th Avenue
Eugene, OR 97401

(541) 682-4203

Office Hours
8:00am - 5:00pm
Monday - Friday

The County Administration Office (CAO) provides an array of services to community members, County departments and partner organizations. It is the focal point for implementing policies approved by the elected Board of County Commissioners.

The County Administration Office also works to anticipate customer needs, manage the day-to-day operations of the County, and guide County-wide work to achieve our strategic objectives.

We have four Board-approved priority areas to guide our work:

  • Safe, Healthy County
  • Vibrant Communities
  • Robust Infrastructure
  • Our People & Partnerships

We use each of these priority areas to inform decisions as we responsibly manage limited resources to deliver vital services with passion, innovation and integrity.

For more information about our strategic plan, including current and achieved objectives, click here.

About Steve Mokrohisky:

The County Administrator is appointed by and reports directly to the Board of County Commissioners.  County Administrator Steve Mokrohisky (Mo-crow-hi-ski) joined Lane County in May 2014. He has served in county government leadership in Oregon, Nevada and Wisconsin for more than 20 years.

Steve has led with a focus on utilizing limited resources for critical services, practical financial management and meaningful public engagement. Lane County’s recent financial management efforts have been recognized by several independent agencies, including the Oregon Secretary of State and Moody’s Investors Service. In 2019, Lane County’s bond rating was raised for the second time in two years to the second highest rating offered due to efforts to create long-term financial stability. 

Steve received a B.A. from Marquette University and an M.B.A from the University of Wisconsin. He is also a public policy graduate of the Les Aspen Center for Government in Washington, D.C. In 2021, Steve was elected to the position of president of the National Association of County Administrators. 

High Prairie Fire Evacuation Information -

Click here for information.